IBPS Clerk 2026
Dates, state-wise vacancies, exam pattern, syllabus, pay and eligibility for IBPS Clerk 2026 (CRP CSA-XVI), taken from the official IBPS notification, corrigenda and calendar.
Overview
IBPS Clerk (now called Customer Service Associate, CSA) recruits graduates for clerical posts in 11 public sector banks, state/UT-wise, through an online prelims and mains — there is no interview.
| Post | Customer Service Associate (clerical cadre) |
| Banks | Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank, Union Bank of India |
| Application window | 1 – 28 Aug 2026 (extended) |
| Prelims | 10 – 11 Oct 2026 (calendar) |
| Mains | 27 Dec 2026 (calendar) |
| Starting basic pay | ₹24,050 (scale up to ₹64,480) |
Latest updates
- 01 Aug: IBPS Clerk 2026 (CRP CSA-XVI) notification released for Customer Service Associate posts in 11 public sector banks.
- 21 Aug: Online registration extended from 21 Aug to <strong>28 August 2026</strong> by corrigendum.
- 29 Sep: Indicative vacancies updated to <strong>11,663</strong> (from 11,403) by corrigendum.
- 10–11 Oct: Online preliminary exam as per the IBPS 2026-27 calendar.
- 27 Dec: Online main exam as per the IBPS calendar; prelims result due in November 2026 (tentative).
General awareness is part of this exam, so keep up with our daily current affairs.
Exam at a glance
- Conducting authority
- Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS)
- Exam level
- National
- Vacancies
- 11,663 (indicative, updated 29 Sep 2026)
- Application fee
- ₹850 (general) · ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM (incl. GST)
- Age limit
- 20 – 28 years (born 2 Aug 1998 – 1 Aug 2006)
- Qualification
- Graduation in any discipline, result declared on or before 21 Aug 2026; computer literacy mandatory
Important dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification & registration open | |
| Registration & fee payment close (Extended from 21 Aug by corrigendum) | |
| Updated vacancies (11,663) (Corrigendum) | |
| Online preliminary exam (As per IBPS calendar 2026-27) | |
| Prelims result & mains call letter (Tentative) | Nov 2026Tentative |
| Online main exam (As per IBPS calendar 2026-27) | |
| Provisional allotment to banks (Tentative) | Mar 2027Tentative |
Syllabus
English
- English Language (prelims: 30 Q, 20 min)
- General English (mains: 40 Q, 35 min)
- Grammar, vocabulary, comprehension
Numerical Ability / Quantitative Aptitude
- Numerical Ability (prelims: 35 Q, 20 min)
- Quantitative Aptitude (mains: 40 Q, 35 min)
Reasoning Ability
- Reasoning Ability (prelims: 35 Q, 20 min)
- Reasoning Ability (mains: 40 Q, 35 min)
General / Financial Awareness
- General awareness
- Financial awareness (mains: 40 Q, 20 min)
IBPS Clerk 2026 exam pattern
Prelims screens candidates; only the Main exam counts for the final merit list. There is no interview.
Prelims
| Section | Questions | Marks |
|---|---|---|
| English Language | 30 | 30 |
| Numerical Ability | 35 | 35 |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 35 |
| Total | 100 | 100 |
- Duration <b>60 min (20 min per test)</b>
- Negative marking <b>−¼ of the question's marks</b>
- Sectional cut-off <b>Yes</b>
Mains
| Section | Questions | Marks |
|---|---|---|
| General / Financial Awareness | 40 | 50 |
| General English | 40 | 40 |
| Reasoning Ability | 40 | 60 |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 40 | 50 |
| Total | 160 | 200 |
- Duration <b>125 min (separately timed)</b>
- Merit <b>Mains only (converted out of 100)</b>
- Language test <b>Qualifying, before joining</b>
IBPS Clerk 2026 eligibility
| Qualification | Graduation in any discipline, result declared on or before 21 Aug 2026; computer literacy mandatory |
| Age limit | 20 – 28 years (born 2 Aug 1998 – 1 Aug 2006) |
| Age reference date | 1 August 2026 |
| Relaxation | SC/ST +5 · OBC (NCL) +3 · PwBD +10 · ESM: service + 3 yrs (max 50) · widows/divorced women up to 35/38/40 |
| Local language | Must be proficient in an official language of the state/UT applied for (LLPT unless studied it in Class 10 or above) |
| Nationality | Indian citizen, or subject of Nepal/Bhutan, Tibetan refugee or eligible person of Indian origin (with eligibility certificate) |
| Application fee | ₹850 (general) · ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM (incl. GST) |
IBPS Clerk 2026 vacancies
Indicative vacancies for 2027-28 across all states/UTs: UR 4,878 · OBC 2,863 · SC 1,936 · EWS 1,024 · ST 962. You apply for one state/UT only; allotment depends on the actual vacancies banks report.
| Year | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| '25 | 15,701 |
| '26 | 11,663 |
2026 = CRP CSA-XVI (updated 29.09.2026; Union Bank of India not reported); 2025 = CRP CSA-XV (updated 14.11.2025). Totals summed from the official state-wise tables.
IBPS Clerk salary by pay level
Pay scale for Customer Service Associate as given in the notification, plus allowances and perquisites as per bank rules.
| Pay level | Pay scale | Posts |
|---|---|---|
| CSA | ₹24,050 – ₹64,480 (basic) | Customer Service Associate in the 11 participating banks |
Frequently asked questions
When is the IBPS Clerk 2026 exam?
As per the IBPS 2026-27 calendar, the online preliminary exam is on <strong>10–11 October 2026</strong> and the main exam on <strong>27 December 2026</strong>. The prelims result is due in November 2026 (tentative).
How many vacancies are there in IBPS Clerk 2026?
<strong>11,663</strong> indicative vacancies for 2027-28 as updated on 29 Sep 2026 (UR 4,878, OBC 2,863, SC 1,936, EWS 1,024, ST 962). Union Bank of India has not reported its numbers yet.
What is the IBPS Clerk age limit?
20 to 28 years as on 1 August 2026 (born between 2 August 1998 and 1 August 2006). SC/ST get 5 years of relaxation, OBC (non-creamy layer) 3 years and PwBD 10 years.
Is there an interview in IBPS Clerk?
No. Final merit is based only on the Main exam marks (converted out of 100). Candidates must also pass the local language proficiency test before joining, unless they studied that language in Class 10 or above.
Is there negative marking in IBPS Clerk?
Yes. One-fourth (0.25) of the marks assigned to a question is deducted for each wrong answer, in both prelims and mains. Unanswered questions carry no penalty.
Can I apply for more than one state?
No. Clerical recruitment is state/UT-wise, so you can apply for the vacancies of only one state/UT.
What is the IBPS Clerk salary?
The basic pay scale is ₹24,050–₹64,480, plus allowances and perquisites as per the rules of the bank you join.
Important links
- Banking official websiteOfficial
- Official notice: Notification CRP CSA XVI-FinalOfficial
- Official notice: Corrigendum-for-extension CRP CSA XVIOfficial
- Official notice: Corrigendum-CRP-CSA XVI 29.09.2026Official
- Official notice: Annexure Corrigendum 29.09.2026Official
- Official notice: CRP-CSA-PRE-XVI-IH-Eng-2026Official
- Official notice: CRP-CSA XV BANKWISE STATEWISE VACANCY 14.11.2025Official
- Official notice: Corrigendum-CRP-CSA-XV Vacancy update2 14.11.25Official
- Official notice: IBPS CALENDAR 2026-27 finalOfficial
Related exams
IBPS PO 2026
Dates, vacancies, exam pattern, syllabus, pay and eligibility for IBPS PO 2026 (CRP PO/MT-XVI), taken from the official IBPS notification and notices.
IBPS RRB Clerk 2026
Dates, state-wise vacancies, exam pattern, syllabus and eligibility for IBPS RRB Clerk 2026 (Office Assistant, CRP RRBs-XV), taken from the official IBPS notification, notices and calendar.
Next: Online main exam (As per IBPS calendar 2026-27) · 30 January 2027
RBI Assistant 2026
Dates, office-wise vacancies, exam pattern, pay, eligibility and prelims cut-offs for RBI Assistant (Panel Year 2025), taken from RBI's own advertisement and notices.
SBI Clerk 2026
Dates, state-wise vacancies, exam pattern, syllabus, pay and eligibility for SBI Clerk 2026 (Junior Associates, CRPD/CR/2026-27/17), taken from the official SBI advertisement and handout.
SSC CHSL 2026
Dates, vacancies, exam pattern, syllabus, salary and eligibility for SSC CHSL 2026, taken from the official SSC notices, so you can plan your preparation around facts.
Next: Tier 1 — Computer-Based Exam (Proposed, as per SSC notice of 1 Oct 2026) · 30 November 2026
Last updated: